A small follow up

Okay. So I was thinking about the post I put up last night, and I’m starting to think that the issue of censorship is primarily where I am headed. 

On that note, I think I quite like the idea of moving into to phrases and sentences, rather than my initial idea of a single word without context. Things like “what the fuck?” and “who the fuck do you think you are”, etc – that directly poses a question of idea of the viewer. Hopefully in doing this, they’re still question the offensive nature of the words (I plan on keeping the bright, bubblegummy imagery), but also the intent, and whether it should be censored or not.

We all have a different idea of censorship; whether society has taken it too far, or not far enough. I personally think that ‘the powers that be’ have taken censorship in a far too heavy direction; and this is what I’m hoping to put out there by putting such statements in such an obvious, viewable way.

On a slight tangent, we also discussed the idea of doing some ceramic plate painting next week in class – I quite like the idea of putting these (normally) offensive statements and words on something as mundane as a dinnerset. It’s something used and seen daily; the wee ideas that have started to bubble from this are kind of catching my interest. I quite like the idea of putting something that we’re supposed to censor and keep ‘hidden’, instead being out there, on a regularly used, usually mundane item is something that really intrigues me.

Anyone have any thoughts regarding censorship? Let me know your thoughts!

About kaleidescope

A 2nd year art student, full of colour, ideas, argument, crass jokes, coffee, and gin.

Leave a comment